Monday, Feb 26, 2018 | Last Update : 01:01 AM IST

Girish is second cueist to register 109 break

Published : Feb 14, 2018, 1:05 am IST
Updated : Feb 14, 2018, 1:06 am IST

Girish produced a sterling performance during his 3-0 win against Pune’s Sahil Gadiya in 3rd round.

R. Girish in action
 R. Girish in action

Producing a sterling performance, R. Girish of Indian Railways matched the efforts of his teammate E. Pandurangaiah, when he also ran up a break of 109 during his comfortable 3-0 win against Pune’s Sahil Gadiya in a third round, best-of-five frame match in the Rs 12.25 lakh prize-money CCI All India Open Snooker Championship 2018, and played at the CCI’s Wilson Jones Billiards Room. In his second round match, Pandurangaiah had notched up a break of 109, the first century effort in the competition.

Showing steady potting skills and the ability to build breaks, Girish made his intentions clear from the start, rolling in a break of 40 in the first frame and then made a run of 46 in the second before wrapping up the contest with an emphatic unfinished effort of 109 to waltz to a 73-0, 63-24, 109-3 victory.

It proved to be a perfect day for Railway cueists as Nitesh Madan, Venkatesh and seasoned pro Rafat Habib, all recorded easy wins to also progress to the next round.

Madan, with a bit of good fortune, managed to overcome his Railway colleague M.D. Hussain in a thrilling match that went the distance.

Both Madan and Hussain shared the first four frames and in the decider, Hussain seemed on course to victory as he was ahead by 16 points with only the last three colours left on the table.

He did well to pot the blue in the top pocket, but while trying to get in position for the pink, the cue ball, to his dismay sank into the bottom pocket. Nitesh grabbed the opportunity with both hands and potted the remaining three colours to clinch a satisfying win. The final  frame scores read 67-45, 21-65, 0-69, 74-43 and 64-57.

Habib blanked  Vignesh Thangamanin of Panvel 3-0 (65-13, 83-1, 56-25) and Venkatesh also enjoyed a dominant win against Rishabh Amin of CCI coasting to a 3-0 (60-27. 69-45, 68-24) win.

Taaha Khan  of Pune, Rajat Khaneja of Chandigarh and Niraj Vasava of Surat, also won their respective third round encounters. Khan outplayed Karan Mangat of Vashi 3-0 (54-4, 53-24, 46-32). Khaneja  who had two breaks of 52 (2nd frame & 44 4rd frame) got the better of Raj Shetye of Panvel 3-1 (73-11, 70-0, 55-60, 65-7) and Vasava prevailed over Mumbai cueist Sagar Desai  3-1 (30-56, 65-61, 72-19, 51-25).

Tags: indian railways, all india open snooker championship